Tea is graded according to size after it has been "fired" to reduce the moisture content to about 2%. These grades are then invoiced and packed in foil-lined packages designed to retain freshness and quality over an extended period of time.

After final grading has been completed, nomenclatures are assigned according to the size of the grade. These fall into three categories:

Whole Leaf - FTGFOP - Fine Tippy Golden Flowery Orange Pekoe Brokens - TGBOP - Tippy Golden Broken Orange Pekoe Fannings - GOF - Golden Orange Fannings

The above gradations relate only to the size of the leaf and not to the quality differences. All grades are the product of the same green leaf. In addition to these nomenclatures, sometimes gardens add a numeral "1" after the grade name. the smaller Brokens and Fannings are generally utilised in tea bags. Recently new technology has resulted in tetrahydral tea-bags which accept larger grades as well.

Click here for tips on how to brew Darjeeling Tea
Welcome to the World of Darjeeling Tea
darjeeling tea grade
About Goomtee
Contact Us for Best Darjeeling Tea

Fair Trade Certified Company IMO Certified Organic Darjeeling Tea

Muscatel Valley

haccp certified darjeeling tea from goomtee tea QMS Certified darjeeling tea from goomtee tea

Brochure of darjeeling tea reasort - goomtee tea

Goomtee Tea , darjeeling tea reasort video